How can I use Allegro in AGS Engine Plugin Development?

Started by Raigen, Fri 10/10/2014 12:31:18

Previous topic - Next topic

Raigen

Hello Guys,

I'm working on a Engine Plugin and I want to send an Allegro BITMAP which I get using "engine->GetScreen()" via TCPIP to another program.

I want to do the following steps:

• Convert Allegro BITMAP to HBITMAP using convert_bitmap_to_hbitmap (DDB)
  • Convert the result Bitmap to something like a base64 string and send it to the target program
  • Convert the base64 back to Bitmap or better directly to a QBitmap, QPixmap etc, because the target program uses Qt

I need help at the first point, but feel free to provide some suggestions or tipps for the others, too.
(Because I'm still learning C++)

Therefore I need to know how can I use allegro within an ags engine plugin using Visual C++ Express 2010 (on Win7 x86 OS running currently on a virtual machine)
I tried to include the allegro libraries as in many tutorials described, but when I used #include <allegro.h> it did not work and produced errors.
I think the main difference is that I dont want to use allegro to develope a game, but to get access to the mentioned function(s).

I have allegro-msvc10-4.2.3.7z used in my tries to get it work, but without success.

The code of the current method is shown below:
Code: agsp300speller.dll Plugin

const char * RequestSpellerMatrixResult(int matrixLeft, int matrixTop, int matrixWidth, int matrixHeight, int rows, int columns, int resolutionWidth, int resolutionHeight)
{
	// Get the Screen
	BITMAP* screen = engine->GetScreen();

// creating the parameter string
	sprintf_s(spellerParams, "%d;%d;%d;%d;%d;%d;%d;%d\0", matrixLeft, matrixTop, matrixWidth, matrixHeight, rows, columns, resolutionWidth, resolutionHeight);

// sending the parameters
	send(sock, spellerParams, strlen(spellerParams), 0);	

// sending screen bitmap
	// TODO	

// receive requested SpellerMatrixResult
	long end = recv(sock, spellerResult, 20, 0);