Chatbox-like Dialogue

Started by bulka_tarta, Sun 26/02/2017 22:51:31

Previous topic - Next topic

bulka_tarta

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is not going to be too advanced for "Beginners Forum", but I'm a beginner (in AGS and programming!) so it felt appropriate to post it here.

I'm trying to get a custom dialogue to look like a chat box, like you could expect in Skype, Facebook Chat or similar.

Key points that I want it (eventually) to include:
- text stays on screen and it's scrollable
- possibility to divide messages into individual boxes (boxes/labels anything)
- possibility for (at least) two variations of the boxes to determine characters
- non-blocking - so perhaps some kind of a backgroundSay?

I tested out at least 3 different dialogue modules to try and get them to do what I wanted. I also spent all day browsing through various topics. Considering that I'm a total programming noob, it is highly possible that I have seen the answers somewhere on the forums, but have totally misunderstood it or I just didn't notice that it could be of use to me.

I have however, managed to put ttogether a very simple hack

Code: ags

//setting up the function
void MySay(this Character*, String text ,String text2, String text3) {

lblSay2.Visible = false;
  lblSay2.SetPosition(7, 123);
  lblSay3.Visible = false;
  lblSay3.SetPosition(7, 123);

lblSay1.Text = text;
  lblSay2.Text = text2;
  lblSay3.Text = text3;

gDialog.Visible = true;  
  Wait(40);
  lblSay1.TweenPosition(0.2, 7, 100);

lblSay2.Visible = true;
  Wait(40);
  lblSay1.TweenPosition(0.2, 7, 77, eEaseLinearTween , eNoBlockTween);
  lblSay2.TweenPosition(0.2, 7, 100);

lblSay3.Visible = true;
  Wait(40);
  lblSay2.TweenPosition(0.2, 7, 100);

Wait(40);
  gDialog.Visible = false;

// using MySay();
function cClient1_Talk()
{
  cClient1.MySay("Hi", "What's up", "Blah");
}