Up-to-date setup instructions for a Windows development system?

Started by fernewelten, Mon 09/07/2018 11:15:53

Previous topic - Next topic

fernewelten

Hi folks,

I'm a computer scientist and former programmer (I've worked in a different profession in the last years). I've become interested in looking under the hood of the AGS system with the perspective of regularly dedicating/donating some development time in the mean term. I've got a Windows 10 system that I could use for this.

The first step would be to set up a working development system for AGS.

I've found this github project: https://github.com/adventuregamestudio/ags. From there, I was pointed to this thread.

However, starting to read this thread, I've got some grave misgivings whether its information is still up-to-date. It starts off by talking about Visual Studio 2008, and we are half-way through the year 2018 by now. Also, the source code described seems to be version-2, even referring in parts to the original Chris Jones code from 2011. And as far as I understand, even the current version 3.4.1 is on the brink of being heavily revised behind-the-scenes.

So, beginning with a machine that doesn't have anything installed over and above Notepad++, how do I get to a development system with all the necessary sources and libraries where I can press a button and half an hour later, a shiny compiled AGS drops out?

Crimson Wizard

This is... an unfortunate oversight that the forum thread is still mentioned there. That should be removed.
I also doubt the linked wiki page. That also seem outdated already, and frankly wiki on this site is rarely kept up-to-date, so I don't like to rely on it.
Real instructions are given in the Windows/README.md: https://github.com/adventuregamestudio/ags/blob/master/Windows/README.md
If you find anything incorrect or missing, README should be ammended.