I'm brand new to AGS. What advice do you have for a complete beginner?

Started by Palmthief, Sat 30/06/2018 06:17:32

Previous topic - Next topic

Palmthief

I've gone through the help manual, watched a lengthy tutorial, googled various questions relating to AGS, and (of course) toyed around with the engine. While I feel as though I'm beginning to have a very basic understanding of AGS, I'm a bit lost when it comes to seeking out plugins/modules that are still relevant and worth using. Are there any in particular that I should make use of/steer clear of? What's one thing you wish someone would have clued you in on early into your AGS career? My ultimate goal is to make a game that can be exported to both mobile and steam--is there anything I should be aware of ASAP?

Snarky

1. Use 32-bit color mode.
2. If you're exporting to mobile, you should probably avoid any plugins at all (but modules are fine).
3. If you're putting code in repeatedly_execute, there's probably a better way.
4. If something is fiddly or time-consuming in the AGS editor, ask! There might be a shortcut somewhere, or a simple improvement that can be made.

For coding, there was a thread recently with some tips: http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=55575.0

It's hard to say what modules are worth using, since it depends completely on what you're trying to do. The Tween module gets a lot of use, the various UI modules that come with the templates save you a lot of work if you're using any of the common UIs (and particularly the LucasArts/Thimbleweed Park UI is quite complex to build in AGS), I always use the MultiTextBox module for GUIs (so you can have different text boxes on one GUI and type only in one of them), or you could use my TextField module. The Timer module is better than built-in Timers.

If you're making your game with voice, then the Speech Center editor plugin is a must-have. The Dialog Designer can also be a useful tool to write branching dialog.