Puzzle dependency chart - is my game too linear?

Started by Lewis, Tue 21/08/2018 10:12:11

Previous topic - Next topic

Lewis

Hi folks. Been working on something, and am trying to use puzzle dependency charts to improve the flow of my game. It's my first time doing this and already I'm seeing huge amounts of value in visualising it.

One concern I have based on what I've done so far is that my game may be too linear. While there are branches, and earlier threads that become relevant later on, the vast majority of my game at this stage (designed up to the start of Act 3 of 3, with probably a third of the game yet to be designed) follows a fairly straight path.

I've reviewed a few dependency charts from much bigger games, and obviously they branch a lot more. My game is more like 2 hours long. But any initial thoughts/feedback on this would be a great help!

Returning to AGS after a hiatus. Co-director of Richard & Alice and The Charnel House Trilogy.

Danvzare

Well it would be nice to see the puzzle dependency chart to be able to form a better opinion. But considering your game is only going to be around two hours long, I think having it linear will be ok. It's easier to make a large game open ended, but there's very little you can do with a short game.

If you really believe that the linearity is a problem though, the only advice I can give without seeing the chart itself, is by telling you to pick a box, and create two new boxes above it. For example, suppose you have a box that says "Get in car", just add two new boxes that say "Get car keys" and "Get petrol". Then just keep doing that until the game seems a bit more open. For example, after that you could add two boxes above "Get petrol" that are "Get hose pipe" and "Get jerrycan". Eventually you'll have several ongoing puzzles at the same time, while more or less keeping your game the exact same.