Do you consider this as "sellable"?

Started by Mouth for war, Tue 11/06/2019 20:54:05

Previous topic - Next topic

Mouth for war

Hey! So I was thinking about becoming a seller at CGtrader. I'm not a professional modeler at all but I thought that maybe I could earn a few extra bucks if I'm lucky. Here are some samples of a few models I've made. This batch contains mostly toony stuff but I'm not limited to that. I'm not expecting to sell much, if anything haha but do you think that these are at least sellable?

First up, a toony grassy hill/floating island

Next, a few trees

A really simple bed

An uncomfortable chair

tombstones

Would love to hear your thoughts about these :D
mass genocide is the most exhausting activity one can engage in, next to soccer

RetroJay

Hi, There, Mouth for war.

I think these look great. 8-0
I don't see any reason why no one would buy these models.
From what I've seen of your other works that you post on here from time to time I think you probably have quite a vast library of models.
I have seen sites that are trying to sell this kind of stuff and they aren't nearly as good as these.
I say, go for it and see how things go.

Good luck.

Yours.
Jay.

lorenzo

Hi, Mouth for war!
I remember seeing some of your 3D renderings in various background competitions and they were always really good!

I like these models. The trees and hill work well together as a set. Nice, cartoony textures with a painterly feeling (especially the tree trunks).

The grassy hill/floating island: the grass on top is a bit weird. It doesn't really look like grass, more like green icing on a strange cake. (laugh)
Maybe try adding some grass sprites on top, to see how it looks?
Or a less sharp cut between the ground and the grass, like this (from Torchlight 2).
Anyway, it's not a bad model, but it could be better.

Trees: I like these trees a lot.
The first tree could be more elongated and a less "fat". Something like this: