[SOLVED] Speech lines/voice acting for dynamically created texts

Started by cat, Tue 13/08/2019 20:59:46

Previous topic - Next topic

cat

Hi guys!

I'm a total noob regarding using voice acting in AGS. I used the search but didn't find anything.

In my code, I have a function that sets
Code: ags
currentText = "A lemon!";

Later, I will call
player.Say(currentText);

I get all those texts included in the translation file, but they are neither in the speechref.txt nor in VoiceSpeech.txt
Is it even possible what I want to do? Or should I just import those lines as normal sound and play it? I don't want to show the text anyway, just play the voice acting.

Cassiebsg

I haven't tried it, but have you tried to add the line number to the text?

as in
currentText = "&10 A lemon!";

You probably have to add the numbers manually though.
There are those who believe that life here began out there...

eri0o

Cat, I have no idea if this is useful or not, but since AGS 3.5.0, CW added the Game.PlayVoiceClip(Character*, int cue, bool as_speech ). Alternatively, if the String is constant from a possible alternatives, maybe refactoring for having if-else/switch cases with the different say functions for the sound be searchable by speech auto-numbering?

cat

Thanks for the suggestions!

Quote from: Cassiebsg on Tue 13/08/2019 22:02:06

Good idea, I'll try that.

Quote from: eri0o on Tue 13/08/2019 23:40:13
Game.PlayVoiceClip(Character*, int cue, bool as_speech ).
Do you have documentation for this? I couldn't find it in the help file.

Alternatively, if the String is constant from a possible alternatives, maybe refactoring for having if-else/switch cases with the different say functions for the sound be searchable by speech auto-numbering?
Somewhat ugly, but a good idea as last resort.

In the end, I want to achieve that the audio is played blocking and can be skipped just as normal player.Say();