Adventure Game Business

Started by Lantern Bearer, Sat 22/08/2020 15:15:05

Previous topic - Next topic

Lantern Bearer

Hi All,

So I'm a new solo developer whose made their first adventure game with AGS, and I'm really trying to figure out how to make the most of my time in deciding how to promote it. As I'm just beginning to navigate this space, I'd love to hear any advice or suggestions from both players and other developers about their preferences if you care to share anything.

Some of the things I wonder about is do players really buy game soundtracks, posters, T-shirts, mugs, etc. is it worth considering offering any of this stuff? Somehow I doubt it.

I'm beginning to understand that Twitter is probably the best platform for getting the word out, along with YouTube and perhaps Facebook, but I'm not that familiar with the other platforms. Are there any other social media platforms I should prioritize for showing my game?

I don't plan on doing a Kickstarter, but as a fan of adventure games would you consider buying a collector's boxed edition for about $20 USD (with artwork/booklet and map) if quality were on par with LucasArts classic era boxes? This would be in addition to the cost of the game itself. I know this depends on whether or not you're interested in the game to begin with, but if some of your favorite modern adventure games offered this, do you think it would be something you'd probably buy for your shelf?

Thanks for any advice!

Snarky

Quote from: Lantern Bearer on Sat 22/08/2020 15:15:05Are there any other social media platforms I should prioritize for showing my game?