Game development is the best worst hobby

Started by deadsuperhero, Fri 05/03/2021 00:20:54

Previous topic - Next topic

deadsuperhero

I've been doing game development on and off for almost 15 years now (I took a long break for about 8 years after my last major failure). I've had a lot of failed projects, some of which actually got pretty far along. But, I've released almost no actual games. The stuff that remains online is often not anything to be proud of, and my efforts to actually make things just takes longer and longer and longer.

And you know what? In principle, that's fine - because for me, the process of making games is the hobby. I'd love to have actually tangible results that I could share with people, and maybe one day I'll get there. There's nothing like having an idea in your head, a pencil sketch, and thoughts that follow you around all day long on how to approach a particular problem. That is to say, there's nothing like making those things real.

But, it's such a maddening hobby. Game development is a fucking nightmare. It's right up there with writing a book, composing an album, directing a TV series, and making a board game. Maybe it's all of those things mashed together, except you're both the executive producer as well as the unpaid intern who gets the producer coffee. And, for giggles, you're the artist and the programmer too!