Animation frame event

Started by smartastreacle, Sat 17/07/2021 10:26:36

Previous topic - Next topic

smartastreacle

Hi,

I am brand new to this so please be understanding.  :)

I have a room with an animation of 7 frames with 5 second delay on erepeat, enoblock. The animation works fine. I also have a health bar. Initially, I would like every time frame 5 comes round for 10 points to be knocked off the health bar so that decreases say from 150 down to 10 at which point the player gets knocked back to a previous room. I have read the manual and looked through the forums, I still don't know how best to achieve this. I have tried so many different things that I am shy at putting code up because there are so many versions of it. I am sure this is easy to achieve. Any ideas would be very much appreciated.
Once I can do the basics I would like for the 10 points to be knocked off randomly so at each cycle it's hit or miss if the reduction happens. In fact I would ideally like for successful random hits to happen in any of three frames - say 1, 3 and 6 of frames 0 through 7 occur. I would also have random hit sounds.
While this happens the player has to achieve something to stop the attack and win. This I can do.

Many thanks. This is my first post. Hi!  8-)

Cassiebsg

Hi smartastreacle and welcome to the forum. :)

My first question is: How do you set up this animation? Is it BG animation, object or something else? Since you mention you have 7 frames, I'm going to assume it's an object.  :)

Answering your last question first (because it's easier): Just add the sounds on the view. Open view->Locate the Loop-> click the frame (1) and in the properties you can set up a sound for that frame. Repeate for any frame you want sound.

For random, all you need is... Random.  (laugh)

From the manual:
Spoiler

Random (int max)
Returns a random number between 0 and MAX. This could be useful to do various effects in your game. MAX must be a positive value in range 0-32767.