Repeatedly Execute. Question.

Started by Pax Animo, Sun 24/10/2021 18:05:41

Previous topic - Next topic

Pax Animo

Hello,

I'm still learning the ins and outs of the programming language and often wonder how repeatedly_execute works in general.
How much is too much and what should be avoided plus learning better ways to avoid putting too much into repeatedly execute.

For an example of code I often place into repeatedly execute,  labels constantly updating characters stats.

Code: ags
if (gPlayerPortrait.BackgroundGraphic == 239) {
    lPlayerStatsEnergy.Text = String.Format("%d", citizens[0].energy);           
    lPlayerStatsHP.Text = String.Format("%d", citizens[0].hp);
  }

I have quite a few of these running all the time. Is this the correct approach?
Also how much of a impact on performance does too much repeats have on overall game play, am i going to run into problems doing it in such a way.

Another example is from a smooth scroll/parallax module I'm using which constantly updates room camera.

[imgzoom]https://imgur.com/MOP6Vj8.png[/imgzoom]

Will this have some effect on performance and is there a better way of controlling how it works?

Misunderstood

Cassiebsg

Remember that rep_exec runs 40 times a sec (assuming that you left it at default). If you need to check something 40 times in a second, then it's the right place to put it. But if it's something that does not, then there's probably a better place to put the code.

The parallax, is likely the correctly placed, since you need to track player movement.

But the stats, probably not. You are tracking the BG sprite, so after you change that BG image, just update the label?
There are those who believe that life here began out there...

Crimson Wizard

Also how much of a impact on performance does too much repeats have on overall game play, am i going to run into problems doing it in such a way.