I'm having issues with the room_AfterFadeIn script.

Started by The_Fonz, Sat 07/05/2022 05:13:34

Previous topic - Next topic

The_Fonz

I am new to the AGS community, and I've been creating a King's Quest styled game, up till a few hours ago it was functioning completely fine. I've been looking through the manual and various tutorials nonstop, But I can't find the solution., I think I might have deleted a line of code on accident.
Everything was fine until I added a second room, I followed this tutorial on YouTube by Densming: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCo0CZzKTPk
I was using regions instead of edges because the door I was trying to use was in an odd area, and there are 4 other doors also. Now when I try to test my game it gives me the "error: prepare_script: error -18(no such function in script) trying to run 'room_afterFadeIn' (Room 1)
This was the code I was using in the first room script for my door.

function region6_WalksOnto()
{
cEgo.ChangeRoom(2);
}

I couldn't get it to work so I deleted it and went back to the manual, I think this is when I deleted the other line, because when I came back to test something else that was previously working I could no longer play the game at all. (game will open and play for about 3 seconds, then is interrupted with the error)

This is the script from my first room, I didn't mess with the Global script during this session.
I don't know how to fix this, I've been staring at it for hours with different forums pulled up and videos, but I don't know what to do. Thank you :(

Code: ags

// room script file

function hDoorRoomOne_Look()
{
Display("The sign above the door says 'Tavern'.");
}

function hDoorTwoRoomOne_Look()
{
Display("The sign above the door says 'Inn'.");
}

function hInnWindowRoomOne_Look()
{
Display("Hmm, Looks like an inn to me.");
}

function hDoorRoomOne_Interact()
{
Display("This must be the Tavern entrance..");
}

function hDoorTwoRoomOne_Interact()
{