Total Beginner

Started by V01dw1tch, Tue 24/05/2022 20:15:01

Previous topic - Next topic

V01dw1tch

First time user of AGS here, been trying to use it for a school project of mine. As someone relatively new to the actual making of adventure games (or games in general), may i ask what are the differences between the BASS, Sierra, Tumbleweed, and Verb coin templates in AGS (Specifically, what makes the unique i think? The only thing i know is that BASS games use just the left and right mouse button etc.).

I personally don't know much about adventure games and my google search didn't result to anything useful. I judged that this question isn't really related to scripting which is why i posted it in here instead of the beginner technical forum.

Please tell me if I had posted on the wrong forum and thank you for those who will respond!

Snarky

Welcome to AGS!

The differences are about the User Interface (UI): the control system that lets the player interact with the world. The templates copy the standard UIs from various old-school adventure-game publishers.

Sierra (King's Quest V-style): Your mouse cursor shows an icon for a particular kind of action (walk, interact, look, talk, …); you switch between them by right-clicking
Tumbleweed (Thimbleweed Park/old LucasArts-style): In the lower part of the screen, there are buttons for different actions; you click the button for the action you want and then on the thing you want to do it on
BASS (Beneath A Steel Sky-style): There are only two types of actions, look and interact. One is left-click, the other right-click.
Verb-coin (Curse of Monkey Island-style): To choose your action, you bring up a kind of menu (the "verb coin") by your cursor, usually by clicking, right-clicking or by holding down a mouse button

There are other differences between them as well, but this should give you a basic idea. You can watch videos of the games being mimicked to give you a better idea.

eri0o