Complete Newbie Present & Future Resolution & Vid question

Started by Jesus DeSaad, Thu 03/07/2003 21:26:37

Previous topic - Next topic

Jesus DeSaad

Hello, I'm a complete newbie.

a) I read that AGS supports resolutions up to 16bit 800x600.
Is a later version gonna offer a bigger resolution choice, for example 1024x748 or 1280x1024?
If not, does anyone know of a program that might just do that?

b) I'm not sure I saw it anywhere, but can you use DivX videos for intro/cut-in/finish scenes? If not, which format is preferrable?

Meowster

I'm also a complete newbie but... :)

First off, I'm not sure why (It's explained somewhere) but the higher the resolution the slower the game plays. This is explained in the FAQ on the main page, I think, if I remember correctly. Besides, most game makers using it are fans of old school style games, so 320x200 is perfect for the old pixel style. That's probably why there isn't a huge demand to higher the resolution capabilities.

Second, for 256 colours FLC is preferable, and for Hi Colours AVI is preferred. You can use any file type supported by Media Player, I believe.

That's my two, unproffesional cents worth. If you're stuck between choosing this engine and another, read http://www.agsforums.com/yabb/index.php?board=3;action=display;threadid=6980 .

Also, if it helps, I started AGS recently and the scripting langauge doesn't take to long to learn, there's a community here always happy to give help or critique on your work and you can advertise your upcoming games here too. There's also a thread for recruiting voiceactors, artists or programmers and/or offering your services. It's a free program (swap ware) and you can even submit suggestions as to the upcoming releases. The community alone makes AGS stand out among the rest.

Okay, Welcome :) :) :)

TerranRich