Grundislav's First Game Ever: The Secret of Carver Island

Started by Grundislav, Sun 21/09/2003 18:22:20

Previous topic - Next topic

Grundislav

I've debated it, and it's been long enough so I've decided to publicly release the first game I ever made with AGS, "The Secret of Carver Island."

Now for some explanation.

I went to George Washington Carver Middle School for 6th to 8th grade, and while I was there I started playing adventure games, most notably the Monkey Island games. So, like every other aspiring adventure game creator out there, I wanted to make my own Monkey Island.  I used to pass the time daydreaming about what my school would be like in a Monkey Island universe, substituting teachers for villians and myself for the hero. You know, typical 14-year-old-nerd behavior.

Anyway, I first made this game with Klik and Play, and it sucked. Then when I found AGS a couple of years back I decided that as a test I would try remaking Carver Island.  That test turned into a full game, which is what you are about to download. Since then I decided to make it a trilogy, and have completed the 2nd game. For the past 2 years I've been working on part 3, which explains why all my other proposed games have taken so long. Yes, the cat's out of the bag now.

So enough babbling from me. Enjoy this horrible Monkey Island ripoff, starring me as the main character and all the people I went to school with as the supporting cast.  And please forgive the lack of originality, hotspots, and graphics.  It was my first game, after all.

http://www.agagames.com/grundislav/games/carver.zip

I may release the 2nd game if people don't hate this one too much.

EDIT:

Here's some screenshots, and also note that this was made 2 years ago so it's a DOS game, which might raise some incompatibility issues.

Czar

well i'm just downloading it, bu you could've put some screens...
Guess i'll have to go to my win98 to play this, so i'll tell you about my experience lat0rZ.
Roses are #FF0000