Adventure Game Studio

AGS Support => Modules, Plugins & Tools => Topic started by: scotch on Tue 08/03/2005 07:32:32

Title: PLUGIN: AGI Graphics Emulation v0.3
Post by: scotch on Tue 08/03/2005 07:32:32
I am not sure if it'll ever be useful to anyone, but I made this this evening, and here it is. (http://www.caverider.com/ags_agi.rar)

If you've played old Sierra games, or some modern (http://members.aol.com/magickpoultry/corpse.htm) low res games (http://www.homestarrunner.com/disk4of12.html) you've seen it.  This gives you the 160x200 background/character effect, keeping 320x200 guis and text.
"Why can't I just scale my graphics to do this" you might ask, well there are a few problems you might not thing of right away, one major one that ruins the effect is the way the character can seem to move half a pixel, which looks very wrong.  This forces all pixels into the right grid.

Here is a shot of Ghormak and Helm's 'Gladiator Quest' which used the plugin, instead of PC EGA this was emulating the C64 multicolour mode:
(http://www.caverider.com/scrnshot.png)

It just does that graphics resolution, not other AGI game things, such as parsers or keyboard control, if you want any of these you should script them yourself .

Also, in the event that you do use this you'll probably get some bugs, I promise to fix them if I can.

Edit: uploaded a working screenshot.
Title: Re: Plugin: AGI Graphics Emulation
Post by: Pumaman on Tue 08/03/2005 08:53:17
Hehe, nice work scotch, it's a cool effect :)
Title: Re: Plugin: AGI Graphics Emulation
Post by: Rui 'Trovatore' Pires on Wed 09/03/2005 02:27:25
Loverly! I think I'll add it to my SQ2 template! :D

And soon I'll add it to my website, anyway. No problem there, I gather?
Title: Re: Plugin: AGI Graphics Emulation
Post by: Gilbert on Wed 09/03/2005 02:49:35
Fun (though I vowed I'll never use plugins).
By the way, I think there should be a way to disable the effect (passing the parameter as -1 maybe), in case this is used as an option for fun in a game, not meaned to be a persistence effect.
EDIT: also noticed it works with 320*200 only, would be great if it can detect the mode corresponding and make the res. 160*240 (for 320*240) and 200*300 (for 800*600/400*300 games).
EDIT2: It doesn't work for 256 colour modes (well it's actually silly to use 24/32 bit for AGI style 16 colour graphics right?), there're alternate black pixel columns.
EDIT3: Won't work if you setup the game to run at 640x400 either.
Title: Re: Plugin: AGI Graphics Emulation
Post by: scotch on Wed 09/03/2005 07:14:10
Thanks Gil.

I updated it, should work in all colour modes now, and there is a function to turn it on and off.

(No of course there is no problem hosting it, Rui)

Perhaps the source (http://www.agagames.com/scotch/ags_agi_src.rar) could be useful to someone as an example, very similar to the template though.
Title: Re: Plugin: AGI Graphics Emulation
Post by: Vel on Wed 09/03/2005 12:06:11
Hey scotch, great work - will test it as soon as possible.
Title: AGI Emulation Plugin source: Anyone have it or got it to work on 320x240?
Post by: Scavenger on Wed 03/06/2009 00:55:53
AGI Emulation Plugin (last I saw of it): http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/yabb/index.php?topic=19601.0

I would like to use this in my game (for a special area of the game) but unfortunately, my game runs in 320x240. The author posted the source but the host went down - does anyone have the source to this plugin or if they have, managed to change it to support other resolutions?

I did several searches, and not turned up anything useful on the subject, so either I'm blind or there is nothing. The plugin looks awesome and would be a great asset to my game, which is unfortunately under a prohibitively tight schedule.

Edited by mod: Moved to appropriate place.

Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere or this is in the wrong forum. :)
Title: Re: PLUGIN: AGI Graphics Emulation v0.3
Post by: NsMn on Thu 04/06/2009 13:38:09
That sure is nice! Perfect for such games.

Are you also able to do one for "NDS-Games", with the screen beeing higher than width ?  ;)
Title: Re: PLUGIN: AGI Graphics Emulation v0.3
Post by: Julius Dangerous on Fri 23/01/2015 16:13:08
Very Nice !
Title: Re: PLUGIN: AGI Graphics Emulation v0.3
Post by: Bishy on Tue 03/02/2015 01:30:19
I'm sorry, but does anyone know how to get this plugin working? The readme isn't very helpful. I don't know where to put these script commands or how they should be used.
I've tried adding them like this:

void SetAGIScalingMode(1);
int GetAGIScalingMode();
void UseAGIScaling(1);

But I just keep on getting errors when compiling.

EDIT: I've managed to get it working. Turns out you have to write those variables WITHOUT the "void" and "int" parts within a function.

So for example:

Code (ags) Select
function game_start() {
    SetAGIScalingMode(1);
    GetAGIScalingMode();
    UseAGIScaling(1);
}


Then it will work. :)