TOOL: Dialog editor v3.1e

Started by ca0mgr, Mon 29/03/2004 22:48:45

Previous topic - Next topic

ca0mgr

I'm a noob and like ags. But I find the dialogue interface a little confusing to use. So, if I have CJ's permission and the .dlg file format to export/import from, I'd like to write a utility to facilitate the dialogue's creation.

Thanks,
Matt

Ishmael

QuoteI find the dialogue interface a little confusing to use

I don't get this... how could you make the dialog writing easier with another program..?  ???
I used to make games but then I took an IRC in the knee.

<Calin> Ishmael looks awesome all the time
\( Ö)/ ¬(Ö ) | Ja minähän en keskellä kirkasta päivää lähden minnekään juoksentelemaan ilman housuja.

ca0mgr

...in the same way you can make walkable areas and such with another program. I could write a utility that allows you to visually link topics together easily, modify dialog, save, load and such.

Then you could load them into their respective slots by "replace from file...", although having a "load complete dialog" option which loads topics and their contents directly would help no end. Then you could write all the dialog topics with this third party tool and import them, much like a character or scene. Trouble is, there is only a "replace from file..." for single topics.

strazer

Sounds like a good idea actually.
If I'm not mistaken, Chris has something similar on his to-do list already. "Outsourcing" it, so to speak, would lighten his workload.
On the other hand, adding new features can be part of the fun in coding...

But yeah, a visual interface would be nice!

Ishmael

Oh, sorry I now see what you mean...

What I'v been importing/exporting dialogs, aren't all topics exported as that one file? Or has this been changed? Or has it been diffrent already?
I used to make games but then I took an IRC in the knee.

<Calin> Ishmael looks awesome all the time