Fortnightly Writing Comp: Gain & Loss [Winner - Oliwerko]

Started by Gravity, Fri 16/04/2010 11:13:12

Previous topic - Next topic

Gravity

Well excuse me for getting to this rather late. I forgot I had entered and did not think to check back. I guess I'm glad to see that I won the first comp entered even though it was not finished. I'm new to this competition thing so bear with me. Also, sorry I was not around to vote! I had some computer trouble... you all know how that is. I would have voted for Babar though!.

I think for this competition the theme should be about gaining something you really want while at the same time losing something very dear to you. This can be fiction or non fiction. Also, it can have any genre such as war, romance, science fiction, horror, etc, or a combination. It is up to you. It can be as long or as short as you want. The competition will end May 16th and voting will commence for up to a week after that. If no new entries appear after a amount of time then the competition will be shortened. I apologize if this is not the best idea for a theme but it will have to suffice for now. Let me know if this theme has been done before and I will come up with a different one.

Start Date: April 16th
End Date: May 16thMay 5th
Voting: May 16th - May 23rd May 5th - May 7th

Again, thank you for voting for me last time out. It means a lot to me. Looking forward to see if this gets any responses. Until next time.

Oliwerko

Identity Regained

I’m going to tell you a story of loss and gain. A story that many of you will be familiar with. A story that’s very well known to many of you. A story of compromise, decisions and balance. My story.

There was a time in my life, it wasn’t that long ago, when I missed almost nothing. I had a great family, great friends, I was successful in almost anything I did. It seemed that there was nothing to worry about, yet a big change in my thinking was about to take place.