Specific scripting questions to do a quick POC for a group

Started by Kilmoore, Sat 12/04/2014 15:31:35

Previous topic - Next topic

Kilmoore

Hi.

I'm new here, and yes, I have read the FAQ's. I am however, in a bit of a hurry. I only have a few days time to do a proof of concept, to convince a group to do my idea for a game. I won't bore you with the details, but the point is I wasn't even going to take part, but suddenly got this idea that I really want to make happen. So now I need to get this done ASAP.

I have several years of programming experience, and if someone could either point me to a tutorial/example game that has what I need to just tell me how this works I would greatly appreciate it, as I simply don't know if what documentation covers this. There seem to be several years old forums post and documents with very unfamiliar looking versions of AGS, so googling gets a bit confusing.

What have I in my demo is a room, with a walkable area and an animated main character. I also have an NPC. This is all fine and done.

What I need to have happen is when the player does the "Interact"-action to the NPC, following things happen:

1) The player character moves to a specific spot
2) The player character performs a preset animation
3) The NPC does an animation
4) The NPC stops and stays in a new position.

Specifically:

A) Where does the script for something like this go? Global script?

B) What is the trigger that happens when Interact-action is done to the NPC, i.e. what function is called? Where is the starting point for this all? I find all these examples that bring up dialogues but I can't find one that covers Interact-action and a character.