Some ideas for new art style

Started by Andail, Fri 09/05/2014 16:06:46

Previous topic - Next topic

Andail

Playing around with higher resolutions. I plan for these to be really wide (so more pictures will be added to these), and scroll sideways, with parallax effect (they're already drawn in layers).
Scanned lineart and coloured in PS. I will be more careful later on (since these lines are a bit sloppy) but this is just to try out the style.
The player character will be relatively small, and only walk sideways, so graphically it will look a bit like a platformer.

Any c&c?

bicilotti

I am not an artist so I will refrain from critiquing, but the backgrounds are very cute (and remind me of Knytt, a game I enjoyed a lot).
Would definitely play a game made with these backgrounds!

Darth Mandarb

I quite like it.

What I would suggest is moving the walk/focal areas up (more towards the horizontal center of the images) and extend the "ground" areas down a bit.  I think this would feel easier to look at it (when playing).  With so much space over the player I would probably always find myself looking up from the "action" areas.  Not knowing the game play mechanics though it's hard to say for sure!

Also, it [moving the focal areas up] would open up the possibility of some foreground (black/indistinct) objects to really sell the paralax scrolling.

Obviously, with the second image, if the PC is able to get to the areas towards the top of the screen this "moving up" wouldn't be necessary!

CaptainD

I like the stark contrast between foreground and background.  Are you going to have a single parallax layer our a couple?

miguel

I'm going for the same kind of background art on a game but not high-res. 640x400 allows me to have an easier control on objects and character animations. So, yes, I really like the style, specially the first one (more polished).
Your line work is pretty cool.