Design Patterns within and outside AGS

Started by LostTrainDude, Thu 26/06/2014 14:40:35

Previous topic - Next topic

LostTrainDude

I really hope that this is the right place to post this.

I'm mostly self-taught and I've been on and off programming\scripting for few years now. Today, for the first time ever (or, at least, so I think), I laid my eyes on the "Design Patterns" topic. Singleton, Factory Method, and so on: I've never actually studied them and what most bothers me is that I really don't understand if, by any chance, I did use any of these patterns without even noticing it.

I'm more or less "accustomed" to the programming vocabulary, still I seem not to make heads nor tails of what I read here.

Lately I've been able to really improve my understanding of programming thanks to practical application of programming concepts through, of course, Adventure Game Design (:D), Music Programming and so on. I think that I'm still in that phase where I really need to "see" things before I can learn them.

So my questions are: what's the story with Design Patterns? Being AGS semi-object-oriented means that can handle them somehow? Can anybody show me some practical use of these patterns? Have you ever used them in AGS?

Thanks in advance! :)
"We do not stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing."

Snarky

A design pattern is essentially a standard, off-the-shelf way to solve a particular type of problem. The idea is that in programming, the same issues come up again and again, so knowing a good, standard way to solve them is very useful.

Design patterns are not limited to object-oriented programming (though the concept is perhaps most popular among object-oriented programmers), they exist in every programming language. You're definitely using some already, probably without thinking of them as such.