Danger Mouse [DEMO NOW AVAILABLE]

Started by Dadalus, Wed 06/08/2014 11:22:08

Previous topic - Next topic

Dadalus

For those who guessed...

Danger Mouse

The Story:

Become the worlds greatest detective/spy Danger Mouse aided and abetted by his faithful assistant Penfold. Thrill as he battles the evil Baron Greenback to save the world (again). Based on the 80s cartoon of the same name.

Some screenshots:

Video promo for the demo (just a teaser only minor spoilers)

[embed=420,315]http://youtu.be/nbJIxgwId-g[/embed]

The demo can be downloaded from this link: DANGER MOUSE DEMO

Development Progress:

Story: 40%
Scripting: 35%
Graphics: 50%
Sound/Music: 20%

Expected completion date: August 2015

Development Diary:

August 6th 2014

The game is very much in its early stages, the germ of a story has begun to grow in my fevered little brain. Progress is slow as I have never used AGS before and am trying to fully understand how things work before adding them. I am giving myself a year to complete the task, though I hope to be finished much sooner.

August 13th 2014

Created some more backgounds. Trying to come up with female characters to add in as DM has very few. Done some work on walkcycle for DM and Penfold.

August 20th 2014

Mostly been working on scripting. Complete rewrite of the way I was dealing with using repeat_execute so that the game does only one action per cycle (dramatic speed improvement). Worked on creating speech bubble that changes size .

Also I have completed drafting a dependency chart & I have planned out dialog/story for the first section of the game.

August 27th 2014

Have designed a couple of new female characters, and have worked on a new background. The work I did using dependency charts has led to me working on an internal system that handles puzzles which should lead to fewer bugs. I'm working on a test game to flesh out my theories. Work on game scripting will halt until I have the system in place.

September 3rd 2014.