A question about workflow and another about smooth animation

Started by majicpotion, Wed 27/08/2014 00:45:05

Previous topic - Next topic

majicpotion

A quick question about my workflow for animation. Is it sensible?

I sketch an animated sequence on paper with a simple lightbox and scan in the frames. I trace it with graphics gale because it has pixel perfect precision with its smooth line tool.
I noticed, that this takes alot of time. The tracing I mean. However, most other techniques for cleaning up lineart (such as contrast, brightness) are best for higher resolutions.
That's all I know about game art at this point. I can't work with a tablet, so I stick with pencil and pen.

Any comments on the workflow I would appreciate. Good? Bad? Is there a better way? etc.

My other question is about smooth animation. Sorry, I did not mention this, but as a side note - I'm just starting out with asset art. I noticed that when moving a single static image in a walk, in the editor when the game is launched to test, it is very jumpy. Very uncomfortable to look at. I figured, as soon as I have more frames for a walk cycle, it will be more pleasing to look at. I wanted an opinion on how I could implement any techniques to make sure that I calculate for a smooth animation. Is there a good way to plan this? There are lot's of walk cycle tuts out there, so I'm not asking for an art lesson, but if its the kind of example you have, please post it. More so, I would like to figure out what kind of other difficulties I might run into as far as animation is concerned.

My personal goal is original King's Quest style graphics enhanced for a better resolution. So I would like to keep things more cartoony, but colors and shading very simple. So 320x* and etc. would not be a good starting point to scale up from since the views need a larger surface area to composite the scenes. I even went as far as 1024x768, but the scaling system is hard to judge.