Need help with sizing on background image

Started by Severian, Mon 01/09/2014 15:17:02

Previous topic - Next topic

Severian

Hi, I have a friend working on my backgrounds for me - and I think there is something wrong with the sizing or perspective of things in this image but I am having trouble articulating it as I am no artist myself.

I'm not sure if it's that the displays in the middle of the room are too tall - or if it is that the desk over on the left is too low or far back. I don't have my animations for my game yet, so I am just playing around with scaling in AGS with the default Girl - but for the character to stand appropriately sized at the desk (especially the far end) it feels that the character in relation to everything else there (especially against the back wall) doesn't really work out.

Does anyone with a more experienced artistic eye, and experience implementing these things into AGS, see a problem here? Or am I just looking at it wrong?

Monsieur OUXX

There si nothing wrong with the perspective, but you fell in the usual trap that beginner scene composers fall into :
Your perspective is a basic perspective that uses one single vanishing point. That's perfect for regular art, but that can become tricky in a 2D video game : Because it means that if the character walks at the bottom of the screen, he will be much, much closer to the camera than he is when he's up against the back wall.
Therefore, when the character is at the bottom of the image, he should be scaled almost 4x compared to the upper part of the image. Try it yourself: go to the scaling properties of the walk area, and make it scale from 200% to 50%. you'll see that the character has the right size compared to the furniture, no matter where he stands.

The problem is that he will look ugly! Because an upscaled character looks ugly.

There are two workarounds/hacks: