Author Topic: One question on AGS 3.4  (Read 4382 times)

Druuna

  • Posts: 5
  • Heya !!! Druuna is HERE !!!
One question on AGS 3.4
« on: 03 Nov 2014, 10:12 »
Hi to ALL !!!
For first excuseme for my bad english :grin:
I see on the forum You working on AGS 3.4 ( wow ... with any resolutions  :-D ) and I want to know if You thinked to add an option for copy/paste coordinates from the rooms image to the script page ... or like now I have to remember it or write it somewhere ?!?!

Thanks for future answer :-D

Crimson Wizard

  • Posts: 8,726
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Crimson Wizard worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Crimson Wizard worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #1 on: 03 Nov 2014, 11:52 »
Hi to ALL !!!
For first excuseme for my bad english :grin:
I see on the forum You working on AGS 3.4 ( wow ... with any resolutions  :-D ) and I want to know if You thinked to add an option for copy/paste coordinates from the rooms image to the script page ... or like now I have to remember it or write it somewhere ?!?!

Thanks for future answer :-D

This works in 3.2 too.
Click middle mouse button, then "Copy coordinates to clipboard".

Druuna

  • Posts: 5
  • Heya !!! Druuna is HERE !!!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #2 on: 03 Nov 2014, 14:14 »
AAAAAAAAAAAAAH !!!!  8-0
All this time ( 2 years of note-write ) and i don't know i can use the middle button for this !!!!!!
Thank YOU very much for this information .... You saved me from a pile of papers :-D !!!!!!!!!

Thanks again !!!

Monsieur OUXX

  • Posts: 3,537
  • Mittens Half Initiate
    • I can help with proof reading
    • I can help with translating
    • I can help with voice acting
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #3 on: 20 Nov 2014, 23:42 »
I had no idea either. That's cool.
 

Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #4 on: 21 Nov 2014, 00:15 »
hah i had no idea either that is so useful

Dualnames

  • AGS Baker
  • Posts: 7,166
  • Pretty Badass
    • Dualnames worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Dualnames worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #5 on: 21 Nov 2014, 12:21 »
WAIT THIS EXISTED?!?!?!!?!?!
No more military army stuff. I'm alive and back.

Crimson Wizard

  • Posts: 8,726
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Crimson Wizard worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Crimson Wizard worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #6 on: 21 Nov 2014, 12:32 »
It was done with right-click since AGS 3.0, but for some reason it was later moved to Middle click. (Perhaps it was conflicting with eraser tools)

Personally I find this a grandiose design mistake, because no one expects this (and this thread replies are proof :-\).
« Last Edit: 21 Nov 2014, 12:34 by Crimson Wizard »

Creator

  • Posts: 191
    • I can help with AGS tutoring
    • I can help with proof reading
    • I can help with scripting
    • I can help with voice acting
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #7 on: 22 Nov 2014, 05:28 »
Ha ha. Funnily enough, I did know about this, but have forgotten in recent times. I've been writing the coordinates into the room script file as comments until I added it to a function.

AprilSkies

  • Rottwheelers
  • Posts: 886
    • I can help with animation
    • I can help with backgrounds
    • I can help with characters
    • AprilSkies worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      AprilSkies worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #8 on: 22 Nov 2014, 22:57 »
WUT????
Oh shit! I lost the best afternoons and the best nights in the last two years writing coordinates on paper!

Crimson Wizard

  • Posts: 8,726
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Crimson Wizard worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Crimson Wizard worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #9 on: 22 Nov 2014, 23:05 »
Hey let's ask AGA to put this info on forum headline? :)

Gurok

  • Rottwheelers
  • Posts: 1,791
  • When life hands you lemons, combine them with the mop
    • I can help with AGS tutoring
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2016, for improving and extending the AGS scripting language
    • I can help with proof reading
    • I can help with scripting
    • Gurok worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Gurok worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #10 on: 22 Nov 2014, 23:37 »
I think it should just be a tip of the day, if it's not already.

Crimson Wizard

  • Posts: 8,726
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Crimson Wizard worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Crimson Wizard worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #11 on: 22 Nov 2014, 23:45 »
BTW, regarding hidden knowledge.

Spoiler: ShowHide

Did you know...
That RunInteraction() only runs interaction function after current script ends?
Code: Adventure Game Studio
  1. function on_mouse_click(MouseButton button)
  2. {
  3.     Hotspot *h = Hotspot.GetAtScreenXY(mouse.x, mouse.y);
  4.     if (h) {
  5.         Display("Before");
  6.         h.RunInteraction(eModeLookat);
  7.         Display("After");
  8.     }
  9. }
  10.  
This will happen:
1. "Before" is displayed.
2. "After" is displayed.
3. Hotspot_OnLookat handler is run.
« Last Edit: 22 Nov 2014, 23:48 by Crimson Wizard »

Dualnames

  • AGS Baker
  • Posts: 7,166
  • Pretty Badass
    • Dualnames worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Dualnames worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #12 on: 23 Nov 2014, 09:36 »
Yeah, i've found that. THE HARD WAY. I always thought it never executed anything below it, but it's kay.
No more military army stuff. I'm alive and back.

Monsieur OUXX

  • Posts: 3,537
  • Mittens Half Initiate
    • I can help with proof reading
    • I can help with translating
    • I can help with voice acting
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #13 on: 23 Nov 2014, 18:58 »
Did you know that RunInteraction() only runs interaction function after current script ends?

NOPE. That might allow massive script hacks, that's really cool.

For example I've always had trouble intercepting "player stands on walkable area" events, to make the player automatically say "oops I shouldn't go there" and then come back. But he always does it after reaching destination, when it's too late. My 6th sense tells me this might be fixed with that. (I haven't given it a thought yet, it's just intuition)
 

Monsieur OUXX

  • Posts: 3,537
  • Mittens Half Initiate
    • I can help with proof reading
    • I can help with translating
    • I can help with voice acting
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #14 on: 23 Nov 2014, 18:59 »
Regarding the middle-click: it should definitely be moved back to right-click. It makes no sense as it is. If there are conflicting controls, then a proper solution must be found.
 

Cassiebsg

  • Cavefish
  • Posts: 4,985
  • Fleeing the Cylon tyrrany...
    • Cassiebsg worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #15 on: 23 Nov 2014, 21:01 »
Uhm... kind of weird to be the newbie and know something the veterans didn't don't without even realize it.  (roll) But think I found it by accident, rather than anything else, and took me a while to figure it was the middle button... I would click on the right button, and think "But I'm sure the other day the copy coordinates was displayed"... (nod)

@Monsieur OUXX, wouldn't Regions solve that problem? I also had problems making the character move away from an area and saying his lines when I was trying to do it with a Walkable area... solved it with creating a region though. :)
There are those who believe that life here began out there...

Monsieur OUXX

  • Posts: 3,537
  • Mittens Half Initiate
    • I can help with proof reading
    • I can help with translating
    • I can help with voice acting
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #16 on: 24 Nov 2014, 11:56 »
@Monsieur OUXX, wouldn't Regions solve that problem? I also had problems making the character move away from an area and saying his lines when I was trying to do it with a Walkable area... solved it with creating a region though. :)
I meant regions. I don't think there is a "player stands on walkable area" event, but there is a "player stands on region" event. My point was: Since scripts are executed in a specific order, it's hard to intercept such event, especially force the player to not do the script instructions that are queued in the events "beyond" the region that's supposed to intercept his actions.
 

Druuna

  • Posts: 5
  • Heya !!! Druuna is HERE !!!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #17 on: 01 Jan 2015, 12:35 »
Hi....im again  :-D
Now i use the new AGS 3.4 but i see there are not DOC manual when you using the HELP (?!?) for searching the scripts example or the other helpfull things.....
Any solutions to having the MANUAL back again ???

« Last Edit: 01 Jan 2015, 12:49 by Druuna »

Crimson Wizard

  • Posts: 8,726
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Crimson Wizard worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Crimson Wizard worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #18 on: 01 Jan 2015, 14:40 »
Hi....im again  :-D
Now i use the new AGS 3.4 but i see there are not DOC manual when you using the HELP (?!?) for searching the scripts example or the other helpfull things.....
Any solutions to having the MANUAL back again ???

The only thing I can think of is that you are running AGS from a folder without write access, and the manual cannot create Index file. But that is just the guess.

I would suggest to ask questions about errors in the 3.4 editor in its own thread, because the version did not have final release yet.

monkey0506

  • Posts: 7,031
  • SEND PIZZA.
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2017, for his work to help AGS games reach the widest possible audience - through popular distribution platforms (Steam, Galaxy) as well as other operating systems (Android, Linux)
Re: One question on AGS 3.4
« Reply #19 on: 01 Jan 2015, 18:01 »
The issue with the manual actually sounds like a known issue with Windows' overprotective security settings. If you go to the properties of the CHM help file (right click on the file, Properties), you'll probably see some warning about it having originated from the Internet.  There should be an "Unblock" button. That should fix it.