Are First Person scenes with 5+ frame animations possible?

Started by Jasper, Mon 22/12/2014 13:15:42

Previous topic - Next topic

Jasper

Hello to all.

I'm fairly new to this, but I'd like to produce a segment of my game in the vein of this;

Gabriel Knight 2 Wolf Chase

Or something akin to the movement and gameplay style of Titanic: Adventure out of TimeTitanic: Adventure out of Time.

Would such a thing be possible with AGS? I have searched various threads but I see general Myst-style first person threads which seem quite possible in AGS, but lack the movement animations I'd be aiming for.

Basically, I would be looking to create a section of my adventure game which is similar to what you see above, with a real-time "first person" segment allowing the player to click forward, left or right to move forward, rotate left or rotate right, with pre-rendered frames (around 10 or so per animation). There would be a timer that is counting down from 60 seconds to allow the player to escape from a maze.

I have experimented with this using animated backgrounds, whether it's the way to go or not, but noticed it appears to only support 4 background frames, so unless there's a way to add more, I might have to exclude this method. I also ran into issues with the "Error: Too many events posted" error, but it's likely I was doing it wrong.

If so, could anyone kindly advise where I should direct my attention in particular (as I'm not sure whether it would be a case of animating the scenes as an object or something else).

Your help is most appreciated.
The glow retreats, done is the day of toil; Upon its track to follow... follow soaring!
-Goethe

Cassiebsg

You can create avi movies for the "cut scenes" if you like. You can also add the BGs as sprites and create a view with them...
And theres probably other solutions for dealing with it.