Exported sprites too small [SOLVED]

Started by HAL, Sat 14/02/2015 06:54:09

Previous topic - Next topic

HAL

Hello, first post, new user, just started using AGS and christ almighty I do believe I've found myself a new ultra awesome hobby for rainy days.

Just a quick question:

I'm making a bit of a game and some of it is fairly generic as I'm new to all this, so to try to add at least a bit of variety I want to change the colour scheme of the default character sprite. I know it's not much but then it's at least slightly 'my own'.

From the sprites folder I see I can 'Export all sprites in folder'.

I choose this option and it gives me all the sprites, at 18x40 resolution, in the designated folder.

I then spent ages changing the colouring of them all, and imported them all back in only to find they're now far too small. My character is now a midget.

What do? :confused:

Ok I guess I could just scale up every sprite in MS paint or photoshop or whatever. But I just think it's a bit weird. I have the fully functional default character sprites, which I export to my computer, and then when I export the very same sprites, simply with a new colour scheme, with the very same resolution they came out at, they come back too small!

Is there something I've missed somewhere? Or is there an easy way I can get around this?

What's the default resolution of the in-game character sprite? It exports at 18x40 but that's too small when I import it back.

Thanks all.

I should have a fully finished game in the next week or so, which I'll be sure to share.

Cassiebsg

Hi and welcome. :)

Did you change the resolution of the game?
The default sprites are scaled for a 320x200 res. game. If you changed your game to run at 640x400 for instance, when you import your sprites back in they will scale for a 640x400 and not for the original 320x200... so they will look 2x as small... Is that what happened?
There are those who believe that life here began out there...

HAL