March Tune Contest - MIDI Funk (Winner announced)

Started by Juan Dahmen, Fri 13/03/2015 09:25:53

Previous topic - Next topic

Juan Dahmen

As almost every game in development here has a retro aesthetic, forcing the visual artist to cope with minimum resolutions (how to make six pixels look like a mouse), we, in the sound department, could force us to some old limitations as well. Just for learning.

Yes, I'm talking MIDI here.
Try to make something really funky with just MIDI sounds (not sound libraries). Can you make something feel good with those awkward sounds?

The funkiest will win.

Juan Dahmen

Tune contests don't get much attention around here, do they?

selmiak

hey, I've  seen the thread!
But I'm no musician...

Haggis

Well - I play guitar and drums - but I'm no composer of tunes.

Here, to get the ball rolling and kick-start the funk I've created this short midi *cough* masterpiece *cough*!
https://soundcloud.com/haggini/the-haggini-strut-2

It was supposed to be loopable but given i didn't know what I was doing... I messed up.
Also - I'm not even sure it's 'just MIDI'.

BRING THE FUNK PEOPLE

Disclaimer - it may not even qualify as funk.

Monsieur OUXX

PEOPLE. You MUST make that funky midi track. I really really want to hear that in my headphones.

Imagine that you're walking down the corridor of an old British mansion, and all the portraits of all the illustrious family ancestors are hanging on the walls, looking down at you. These ancestors are Rise of the Triad, Warcraft II, Goblins 3, etc. Do not disappoint them or you'll be haunted until the end of times.

Erenan