Cannot change room

Started by highkingtorygg, Sat 28/03/2015 02:40:53

Previous topic - Next topic

highkingtorygg

I am trying to get my protagonist to get to a new room, but I cannot get it to work. This is one of the many different ways I've tried to do it.
Code: ags

function hfencegate_Interact()
{
Donovan.ChangeRoomAutoPosition (2);
}

Anyways, I'm a novice to both AGS and coding, and a complete dumbass, so any help is appreciated.

highkingtorygg

I named the protagonist Donovan, in case that was misleading.

monkey0506

When you say that you named the protagonist Donovan, is Donovan actually selected as the player character? That is, in Donovan's Character tab in the editor, is the "This is the player character" box checked?

If so, does the function "hfencegate_Interact" actually appear in the Events pane (click the Lightning bolt icon in the Properties pane) of hfencegate?

If so, is the function executing? You can easily tell this by putting:

Display("CHANGING ROOMS....");

Just above the call to ChangeRoomAutoPosition.

If that isn't being called, could you post the on_mouse_click function from your GlobalScript, as well as tell us any templates or modules you may be using?

There's a lot of things to consider as to why this might not be working. ;)

Mandle

Don't characters need a lower-case c in front of their name to tell AGS that they are characters?

cDonovan?

highkingtorygg

Quote from: monkey_05_06 on Sat 28/03/2015 04:07:27
When you say that you named the protagonist Donovan, is Donovan actually selected as the player character? That is, in Donovan's Character tab in the editor, is the "This is the player character" box checked?

If so, does the function "hfencegate_Interact" actually appear in the Events pane (click the Lightning bolt icon in the Properties pane) of hfencegate?

If so, is the function executing? You can easily tell this by putting: