Help summ up AGS pros and cons

Started by Crimson Wizard, Wed 08/07/2015 19:46:22

Previous topic - Next topic

Crimson Wizard

I was contacted by a representative of a team, which is making a list of 2d game engines:
http://www.slant.co/topics/341/~what-are-the-best-2d-game-engines

He asked me if I can give him a summary of pros and cons of AGS.
I do not feel like doing this only by myself, because I am not a game developer and have a rather "narrow" view on the program.
Could you help me in making a list of most important points so that I could send it back to them?

EDIT: replied sent; if you want to add more cons and pros, register at their webpage and do it yourself:
http://www.slant.co/topics/341/viewpoints/66/~what-are-the-best-2d-game-engines~adventure-game-studio

cat

Pros:
Active community
Active engine development
Successfully used for big and commercial projects
Free, open source

Cons:
Engine a bit dated regarding scripting language, platform support, but getting better

Snarky

Along the same lines as cat:

Pros:

• An all-in-one, easy to learn tool
  • After 18 years of development and having been used for thousands of games (including a number of high-profile commercial releases), is very extensively featured and proven in its capabilities
  • Relatively well documented, with manual, tutorials, code samples, and one-on-one community support
  • A library of hundreds of free script modules to help simplify complex tasks
  • An active community that can help with every aspect of game making (including art, voice acting, moral support, etc.)
  • Active development that addresses bugs found in the engine
  • Free and open source (with a permissive license)

Cons:

• Limited support for non-Windows platforms