My little beach

Started by SinSin, Thu 05/05/2016 00:20:33

Previous topic - Next topic

SinSin

I've been doing some practice lately and I want some opinions on my shading and colour use.
Am I doing too much in terms of dithering  ??
Currently working on a project!

Danvzare

I'm not very good at critiquing shading and colour use (probably because I'm not very good at those two myself), but I can tell you that you have not done too much dithering. The colours you've used for the dithering on the sand might be a little too close together, and you could probably do with some slightly other forms of dithering, but other than that, it looks nice.

I do think your sand is a little too orange for my taste, but then again like I said, I'm not too good at critiquing shading and colour use.

Blondbraid

I like the colors, they make a good job of making the things stand out from one another.
But maybe the sky has a bit much "texture" going on...

Haggis

I'm really no authority on pixel art but I agree with Blond Beard in that the sky has too much texture.

Re: sand colour - the colour you have in the distance is actually the colour I would start with in the foreground and dither out.

It is however a lovely piece of pixel art - look forward to seeing it evolve.

SinSin

Righty, thanks for the input. 

I spent some more time on this, taking out the excessive dithering and desaturated my palette somewhat.  added a man and various other bits and bobs. I will throw in another edit once I make the nearest sand less orange and animate it.

Haggis

That updated image looks fantastic!

Danvzare

Definitely a huge improvement.
I especially like the little details you added.

Blondbraid

The sky in the new pic looks really beautiful, what a lovely beach! 8-)

silverwolfpet

I really like how you take into account the lightsource position (the Sun) and even the clouds have proper shading.