Trademarks and Characters - Legal Question

Started by 8bitN8, Thu 16/02/2017 17:39:00

Previous topic - Next topic

8bitN8

A few years ago I started making a game that uses characters from a popular movie series (Indiana Jones). The main character of my game is actually a side character from the series. My original intention wasn't to make money off of it or even to share it, but now I'm considering finishing the game up and using it as a resume piece.
Keep in mind, I'm a beginner at best.

So my vague question is this - how does trademark law apply to fictional characters? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Snarky

Not a lawyer or expert, but my layman's understanding:

Trademarks are "marks" that identify a product for sale. They can be pretty much anything: a name, a logo, a character, a jingle. They need to be registered, and they are only protected within the scope of a certain business. So for example "Apple" is a trademark name in the computer market, but you would still be able to use it for something completely different, e.g. as a clothing brand, since there's no risk of confusion. Trademarks do not expire as long as they are used. Companies MUST defend their trademarks, or risk losing them, so you cannot rely on them turning a blind eye even to non-commercial fan creations.

Some fictional characters are trademarked because they serve as mascots for products (e.g. Tony the Tiger, Mickey Mouse), or just because they are important to the company and it offers additional legal protection, but most are not. Indiana Jones may very well be trademarked, but I wouldn't expect a side-character from the series to be. You might want to check that.