Display() / DisplayAt() / Say() / SayAt() issues - might possibly be bug

Started by fernewelten, Fri 09/06/2017 17:43:47

Previous topic - Next topic

fernewelten

Hello.

I'm trying to build a high-resolution (1280x720) adventure with AGS 3.4; for the exact setup, cf. the bottom of this post. This is my first attempt to work with AGS. I've read the FAQ and perused the F1 documentation several times.

Currently, I'm trying to make a custom text window work. I'm testing the following code with different displaying functions:
Code: ags

function room_FirstLoad()
{
    DisplayAt(550, 400, 100, "That's me talking!");
}

I notice:

* When I use player.Say() or player.SayAt() or Display(), the system uses some font that I haven't found in the configuration screens anywhere. Also, the system ignores the custom text window GUI 7 that I set up in General Settings. I've tried every setting in Dialog/Speech style without changing anything in this regard.

player.Say():

Display(): (same picture as above)
player.SayAt():

* When I use DisplayAt(), the system does use my custom text window and does use a font in the resource tree, I think font 1.

The documentation of DisplayAt() claims: "Identical to the "Display" function, only this allows you...".

I've probably overlooked some customization somewhere. So how do I proceed from here?
There's also a slight chance that I might have tripped over some obscure bug.
I've tried several Google queries without finding any article that treats similar problems.

Peter

PS. Please disregard the graphics. I use scribbles for everything where I am still unsure of the exact details, by principle.

Here is my setup:

My AGS version, as given in the Help/About AGS... screen:

QuoteAGS Editor .NET (Build 3.4.0.16)
V3.4.0, March 2017
Copyright © 2006-2011 Chris Jones and 2011-2017 others.
Scintilla (c) 1998-2003 Neil Hodgson, all rights reserved
DockPanel Suite (c) 2007 Weifen Luo
See the DOCS folder for copyrights of used libraries.