Help with PlayVideo script command

Started by timrocket2, Sat 24/03/2018 21:23:40

Previous topic - Next topic

timrocket2

Hello,

I'm new to AGS, and ive been struggling with this scripting for the last hour. I have scoured the internet for help but I still cannot get it to work.

So i have started making a game, so far with one room and the default character and a basic background.

I just want to get AGS to play an intro video in-game but when i Run the game, no video plays and the character enters the room after fade-in.

I have put the video file (tried mp4 and ogg formats) in both the Compiled and the Compiled/Data subdirectory of the main game directory in My Documents but none work.

Is there anything wrong with this room script?:

// room script file
// PlayVideo "YuniWorldDemo1.mp4",1, 1

thanks in advance

Crimson Wizard

// room script file
// PlayVideo "YuniWorldDemo1.mp4",1, 1

Is this literally the command you have in script? Thing is that it has "//" prepended, which means it is treated as comment, not command, and never actually executed.

First of all, the script must be put into a function in order to run.
In AGS script is not run if you just put a command into script file. You need to define an event which starts it.
If you go to the room properties pane and switch to events (lightning button), you will find a list of events you may bind a function to:

For example, "After fade-in" event takes place after room transition is over. Double click on empty string to the right from "After fade-in", this will create a function with default name in the script file. Then you can put your commands there.

Secondly, this is not how a function is called. You need to surround function parameters with round braces:
Code: ags

PlayVideo("YuniWorldDemo1.mp4", 1, 1);

Quote from: timrocket2 on Sat 24/03/2018 21:23:40