Is it possible to have two characters speak in different fonts during dialog?

Started by Volklaw, Fri 18/05/2018 13:58:36

Previous topic - Next topic

Volklaw

Hi everybody

I'm back with what I can only assume is another total novice question.
I've checked the manual and couldn't find anything. I checked the forums and found something from over ten years ago suggesting what I'm after is techincally not possible but that it might find it's way into a later version of A.G.S. I have the latest version so I was wondering if it is now possible to have two characters speak to each other using different fonts.

In my example, I have an interaction where the playable character is talking to a character who is talking hieroglyph style gibberish. The whole dialog takes quite a while to the deliberate and intended annoyance of the player. I have imported a dingbat/wingdings style font that I can use for the unintelligible character, however; I have only been able to change the fonts of all characters in any given room by using the Game.SpeechFont = eFontRuritaria; on the room_Load() function.

Is it using the most recent A.G.S. to have characters display speech in different fonts?

All answers and thoughts are appreciated!
Regards

Crimson Wizard

There is still no per-character speech font setting, it is only possible if you set SpeechFont everytime before calling Say line.

Obviously, manually adding such action every time will be inefficient (and drive you mad), but this is where custom functions may come handy. For example, you may write following extension function:

Code: ags

void SayGibberish(this Character*, String text)
{
    FontType oldFont = Game.SpeechFont; // remember previous font
    Game.SpeechFont = eFontRuritaria;
    this.Say(text);
    Game.SpeechFont = oldFont; // restore previous font
}

Then use it like:

cNPC.SayGibberish("Hello, my name is Bob");

Expanding this method, you may set up personal font for each character in your game, if necessary.