Saving to previous room[solved]

Started by Glenjamin, Mon 18/06/2018 17:33:31

Previous topic - Next topic

Glenjamin

This is my first time implementing a savegame mechanic. I checked the manual but I'm not sure what this process would be listed under.

My game has a few requirements for when you save. What would be the best way to tackle the following issues?

1. When the player loads the game, It should return them to the room they last saved in. The room should be reset. 

2. When the player dies, they get sent to the "game over" room. If you save from the game over room, the game should save the previous room, or the player will return to the game over screen on load.

3. There should only be ONE savegame slot.

How would I go about doing this? Thanks in advance.

Cassiebsg

Uhm... the big question is why would anyone save the game in a "game over" room? ??? I usually just hit load or quit the game.

As for "forcing" events to be reset at loading time, then you just add the code to the "on_event" function with the eEventRestoreGame. Check the manual for more info. (nod)

As for only one slot is easy, don't give a list of options, add a button/key to save and one for loading. Then save it to the slot you decide. I normally use 99, but you can use any number you fancy (except 999, since that one of reserved for restart point).

EDIT: Oh, and if you really need the previous room, then you can use player.PreviousRoom... ;)
There are those who believe that life here began out there...

Khris

It sounds like all you need to do is disable manual saving and simply call SaveGameSlot(1); in on_event/eEventBeforeFadein. This way the one savegame always contains the current room's initial state and there's no need to reset anything in the first place. This should solve all three points.

Matti