Place a new object in room

Started by OgreVorbis, Tue 11/12/2018 10:19:08

Previous topic - Next topic

OgreVorbis

I am making my first "real" game in AGS. I need to have the ability to place an inventory item anywhere in the game (in any room) and have it spawn a certain object. Is it possible to do this with out creating a dummy object in each room and then setting it to visible? It would be best if I could also designate within the walkable area. I really need a solution for this because there are a number of objects in my game that can be placed anywhere by the character and so I'll end up with a lot of dummy objects and it will take a lot of time. I could always make a designated area, but it would make the game less fun for other reasons.
If you know how, I'd appreciate a little example code. Don't just assume I know because I'm new to this.

Snarky

OgreVorbis

...add it as a character. I should of thought of that sooner. I'll give that a try.

OgreVorbis

I'm not sure what event I should put the code in then.
I need something like an event for mouse click in every room. Is there a way to do this?
In it I would put something like:
Code: ags

if (cEgo.ActiveInventory == iFirePit)
cFirePit.ChangeRoom(cEgo.Room, mouse.x, mouse.y);

If there is a better way, let me know.Thanks!

Snarky

To avoid separate functions for every inventory item, use a mapping from item to character. If there are only a few you can just do a function with an if/else-if or switch/case block, but if there are more I would use the indices. If you have e.g. 30 inventory items, set aside at least 30 consecutive characters. Then the inv. item index + index of the first inv. character gives you the character you want.

Khris

Quote from: OgreVorbis on Tue 11/12/2018 10:58:16I need something like an event for mouse click in every room. Is there a way to do this?
Yes, if you add
Code: ags
function on_mouse_click(MouseButton button) {
  // code here
}