Somebody fucked with my computer

Started by Ben, Tue 12/08/2003 03:48:42

Previous topic - Next topic

Ben

Well, I don't know what happened, but my computer is being a bitch. Whevever I start my computer, it works fine for a few minutes, and then a program called svchost.exe (in the windows/system32 folder) crashes. When that happens, I can no longer copy and paste from the clipboard, Internet Explorer can't open anything in a new window, and some programs don't run when I clcik on them. I have no idea what to do, so I figured I should ask around. I'm completely stumped, and can't even find the error file that the program wrote to. Svchost is obviously something that works in the background of Windows 2000 and is essential to a lot of basic operations, but that's all I've figured out. I'm not really sure what kind of help I'm expecting to get here, but it's Microsoft tech support is anxious to help..

Sluggo

Well I'm no computer expert, but something similar happened to me also. Whenever I started my computer about 10 error messages popped up that said some program performed an illegal operation, and most of them were system files. It turns out I had a virus that was infecting them all (somewhere in the thousands of system files), so if you have a viruscan this post probably wasn't much help. But maybe it's due to a virus.

Sylpher

Svchost runs when win2k first starts up and is supposed to take care of running task in your registry...

If it is crashing that is no good! However there is an easy fix you should try that might (I said might) fix it.

If you have the win2k disk plop it in and simply install windows again...Don't format or nothing just install on top...this generally fixes many little problems windows will run into..replacingany bad, screwed with, or messed up files.