Adventure Game Studio

AGS Support => Advanced Technical Forum => Topic started by: Kweepa on Tue 10/08/2004 03:53:26

Title: Bug with StartCutscene
Post by: Kweepa on Tue 10/08/2004 03:53:26
Start a new game using the Default template, and select
Skip speech: Mouse or key (no auto remove)
Then go to Room and in create a script for first time player enters screen as follows:
  StartCutscene(1);
  DisplaySpeech(EGO, "A");
  DisplaySpeech(EGO, "B");
  DisplaySpeech(EGO, "C");
  EndCutscene();
Now save as room1, and test the game.
Press ESC immediately. The game hangs.
However, if you move StartCutscene(1) to after the first dialog line, it works fine - pressing ESC once skips to "B", then pressing it again skips the "B" and "C" at once as expected.

Tested with 2.61 and 2.62b.
Cheers
Steve
Title: Re: Bug with StartCutscene
Post by: SilverWizard_OTF on Tue 10/08/2004 16:37:44
Probably AGS can't recognise what you want, to end cutscene or to pass the current speech line (because you set mouse or key-- no auto remove). Anyway, i think you should set  mouse only and to increase speech's text speed (game.text_speed variable) for to be seemed like the player must click for removing the speech.

I hope it helped a bit
Title: Re: Bug with StartCutscene
Post by: Pumaman on Tue 10/08/2004 20:38:15
StartCutscene doesn't work properly with No Auto Remove text -- remember that a cutscene effectively puts the game into fast forward and turns off the display, so you should only use it where no user input is required during the cutscene.

However, for this specific case I'll look into a fix.
Title: Re: Bug with StartCutscene
Post by: Kweepa on Wed 11/08/2004 01:41:33
I hadn't thought of that - I guess because it works after  the first dialog line.
Thanks Chris.

And SilverWiz, cheers for the workaround. It's a bit hacky but it'll work.