Adventure Game Studio

AGS Support => Advanced Technical Forum => Topic started by: dezibelz on Wed 30/08/2006 19:50:14

Title: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: dezibelz on Wed 30/08/2006 19:50:14
hello everyone.

i have the newest version of ags and i am using the lucasarts style interface.
there are normal rooms and one map room.
when leaving the map room i use regions. to end the map-style, i run a script called

function EndMapRoom(){
  //call this function from the "player leaves screen"  interaction in the last
  //of the set of rooms that have the special maps gui.
    gMaps.Visible=0;
    gMaingui.Visible=1;
    gAction.Visible=1;
    game.auto_use_walkto_points=0;
    SetMode(DEFAULT);
    player.Clickable=0;
    gAction.Controls[0].AsLabel.Text="";
}   

PROBLEM: when i go to rooms Q and R at spezified coordinates, the game places the character elsewhere, sometimes 100 pixels too far to the left, sometimes at completely different locations. whats more, the character faces different locations, he will look down once and to the left the next time.

if someone has help please post it!!!

the rooms i go to have no interactions when the caracter enters. my guess is it is something in the global script, but to be honest, i have no idea.
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: monkey0506 on Wed 30/08/2006 21:09:14
Can you post the code you used to make the character change rooms? Also, what makes you think that this function is the culprit exactly? Have you tried commenting it out, and if so does it fix the problem with location (although messing up other things with the GUIs and whatnot)?
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: dezibelz on Wed 30/08/2006 21:49:45
I use the

- Region - Interactions - Walk onto region - "player - go to different room at specific coordinates"

in the AGS... not with scripting (sorry)... but the player won't go to these coordinates... and he always look to another side....

... any ideas?
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: SSH on Wed 30/08/2006 21:54:37
Are any of the rooms involved scrolling rooms? Also, the character will face the same direction he was when he left the old room
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: dezibelz on Thu 31/08/2006 14:45:47
OK... the room the caracter has to leave, is scrollable. Is that a problem?. Because the room he has to go to is not scrollable...

And why the caracter will face the same location, he was in the room before?... i also added a "face location" in the new room... but doesn't work...

what else can i do?
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: dezibelz on Wed 06/09/2006 15:55:01
ok so ive broken the problem down to the following:

when going from the map room (not scollable) to one of the other rooms (scrollable) using

hotspot; player walks onto hotspot-> go to different room at spezific coordinates

my hero will appear at one of three different locations in the destination room.
it seems to be random at which of the three destination positions he will appear.
like i said, im using the lucasgames download for ags.
ive tried adjusting the screen edges.
ive changed the map room to a non scollable room.

i just cant explain why three different locations please help
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: SSH on Wed 06/09/2006 15:57:07
Maybe you could post your zipped game folder up somewhere so that someone can download it and help you?
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: dezibelz on Thu 07/09/2006 16:38:46
okey here comes.

u will start at a bar.
leave the bar towards the right to get to the map room. on the map there will be two hotspots marked as problem rooms. when u enter them, u will notice that our hero does not always go to the same place, and rarely where we intend him to.

if u leave the bar to the left towards the "strand"  some intro animation will run, dont worry about that, its a bit off because our hero will enter that room from the intro room.

so heres the url: www.cheu-va.com/files/Dezibelz.rar

thank u very much!!!!
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: SSH on Thu 07/09/2006 17:17:33
I think it is a race condition between the interaction editor and the script, or somethign wierd like that. Basically, if you use player.ChangeRoom  in a script instead of the interaction editor to change rooms, you'll find that it works.

Odd!
Title: Re: wrong postion when changing room
Post by: dezibelz on Thu 07/09/2006 17:48:45
its working now!   :D   thank you very much for your quick reply. problem seems to be solved.