What's your opinion on death in adventure games?

Started by Ytterbium, Fri 30/01/2004 20:36:24

Previous topic - Next topic

Pet Terry

I think Pleurghburg is a good example how to use death in adventure games. The scenes in which you are in danger to die are made so that something tells that you have to save now...
<SSH> heavy pettering
Screen 7

strazer

QuoteI was really enjoying Pleurghburg right up until I was shot, even though I was a police officer carrying a gun of my own, which OF COURSE I went for.

My last save was about an hour previous. Grrrr!

Lol, same thing happened to me. Haven't played it since. I didn't know you could die so didn't bother to save that often.

Babar

For some reason I really hated the "Retry" method of solving Deaths. Like when you die, you are immeadiately taken to the point just before the cause of death. Like in KQ7. That just annoyed me. They even gave a little "hint" that usually solved the whole puzzle.
The ultimate Professional Amateur

Now, with his very own game: Alien Time Zone

Mats Berglinn

I don't like deaths in adventure games anyway, anyhow, anywhere. That's why I like Lucas Arts games because you can't die in those games (with a few exceptions like Maniac Mansion and Zak McKraken).

When I played the Adventures of Fatman demo and I pressed the self-destruct button in the Fatmobile because I thought it was somekind of joke but no! You just sat there while the FatCom (or what it's name was again) counted down and KABOOM!!! That's just plain stupid way to plant a death on.

Deaths in my games haven't been, is not nor will ever be a part of my games style. No way, no how! I just hate those death things. It's just a stupid excuse for annoy players. Thank goodness that death-scenes are only at certain places in Pleurghburg because otherwise it would be very annoying.

Ryukage