Adventure Game Studio

AGS Support => Beginners' Technical Questions => Topic started by: GameMaker_95 on Fri 24/07/2015 11:43:16

Title: How to hide GUI for one room (Menu) (SOLVED)
Post by: GameMaker_95 on Fri 24/07/2015 11:43:16
Hi,

I have two problems, I have created a room to act as a menu with hotspots for the buttons but my problem is,
I want to disable the dropdown inventory GUI for just this room. I've tried a couple of things, mostly examples given already such as enters rooms, leaves room.
I believe I am using the [MODULE] SingleCursor 1.1 by hedgefield if that makes a difference.

OTHER PROBLEM SOLVED. THANKS slasher.
Title: Re: Cutscene actions not playing and hide GUI
Post by: Slasher on Fri 24/07/2015 13:01:33
try making him walk eblock for starters...
Title: Re: Cutscene actions not playing and hide GUI
Post by: GameMaker_95 on Fri 24/07/2015 13:08:45
Thank you, that worked, I just didn't click that was what was missing. That solves one problem.
Title: Re: Cutscene actions not playing and hide GUI
Post by: Slasher on Fri 24/07/2015 13:18:34


Code (ags) Select

  Perry.LockView(6);
  Perry.Animate(0, 1, 0, eBlock, eBackwards);
  Perry.UnlockView();
/*  does this animation loop once else repeating..?
eg:
cEgo.LockView(12);
cEgo.Animate(0, 0, eOnce, eBlock, eForwards); loop 0, delay 0, once only, block, forward
cEgo.UnlockView();
*/
Title: Re: Cutscene actions not playing and hide GUI
Post by: GameMaker_95 on Fri 24/07/2015 13:24:19
It animates once, it is his pick up animation, it then changes back and the script carries on.
Title: Re: Cutscene actions not playing and hide GUI
Post by: Slasher on Fri 24/07/2015 13:28:40
then you'll want:

Example
Code (ags) Select

Perry.LockView(6);
Perry.Animate(0, 1, eOnce, eBlock, eBackwards); // will run the animation just once blocked and then return view
Perry.UnlockView();
Title: Re: Cutscene actions not playing and hide GUI
Post by: GameMaker_95 on Fri 24/07/2015 13:35:15
Thank you, I will change the script and see how it runs. I need to do a little fine tuning with where he walks but other than that
he runs fine now. Thanks for the help slasher.
Title: Re: Cutscene actions not playing and hide GUI
Post by: Slasher on Fri 24/07/2015 13:48:10
good luck (nod)
Title: Re: How to hide GUI for one room (Menu) (not solved yet)
Post by: Grok on Sat 25/07/2015 08:53:59
Quote from: GameMaker_95 on Fri 24/07/2015 11:43:16
---

I want to disable the dropdown inventory GUI for just this room. I've tried a couple of things, mostly examples given already such as enters rooms, leaves room.
I believe I am using the [MODULE] SingleCursor 1.1 by hedgefield if that makes a difference.

---

You can turn the Gui.visible to false in the repeat function in the room script. If you do it in i.e. the load function the Gui will turn invisible at load, but will then be turned visible again by the global script. So if you do it in the room script you need to keep turning the visibility off. You could off course make the change in the global script instead.

Title: Re: How to hide GUI for one room (Menu) (not solved yet)
Post by: GameMaker_95 on Sat 25/07/2015 09:02:30
Thank you Grok, I will give it a try and get back to you.
Title: Re: How to hide GUI for one room (SOLVED)
Post by: GameMaker_95 on Sat 25/07/2015 12:00:17
Thanks Grok, I tried it and it worked perfectly.