Uber Graphics

Started by DCillusion, Fri 25/06/2004 03:59:28

Previous topic - Next topic

DCillusion

Occasionally, I see someone post a game at 640x400 or even 800x600, and there's always someone who attacks them for their graphics choice.  They give redundant argument of it's not the graphics, it's the game; or go play a Shooter.  Some AGSers even heckle people who use higher-end painting programs.

As a 640x400 game designer myself I'd like to tell all the people who say these things what I thought was painfully obvious.

People don't use Hi-res because they're graphics hogs, they do it because they can't draw like the 320x200 crowd.  Drawing at a lower resolution takes a LOT more skill than hi-res.  I assumed people knew this, but apparently some do not.  We aren't all AGDI.!!  We ARE all entitled to make games though, even if we have to go large format.  After all AGS isn't as clean as C++ or the Sierra Creative Interpreter, but we all use it because we can't do it ourselves and we still want to make games.

So Please, the next time someone attacks somebody else about graphics, make certain the game is rushed, sloppy, etc.  before making the "BIG GAME VS. GRAPHICS" speech.

Moox

What brought this up?

Low res doesnt take more skill, its just what your used to, I can draw cartoony 640x480 but more realistic 320x240
I dont draw much high res because of the amount of detail it needs.

Gilbert

Well many times hi res graophics can be good and contain more details, they're required if you can really have good use to it, but not when they're unnecessary.

But I don't see the point of argument here. Usually people were crit for using unnecessarily high res graphics only when they can actually make the graphics as good in low res and when painting those graphics won't mean more work (and usually less) doing low res. In that case low res is more favourable, at least for space and speed concern.