Problem loading AGS games

Started by Achejay, Sun 29/08/2004 18:34:32

Previous topic - Next topic

Achejay

Hi all.  I'm just getting started with AGS.  I am playing through a few before I start to make my own, and I am having problems loading most of the games.  The game just comes up as a blank screen.  If I play in a window, the view only changes when I move the window. 

I'm running WinXP professional on this laptop.  Resolution, buffer size, etc, seems to make no difference.  It may be something to do with the refresh rate, or the .cfg files.  I've tried the FAQ, knowledge base, and tutorial, but couldn't find this problem covered

Thanks!

SilverWizard_OTF

Maybe it's because your (maybe) low RAM.
How much RAM do you have (AGS editor needs 32MB RAM, but i have seen AGS games that need 128MB RAM, like Quest for Glory 1 1/2.)

Also, check if these games work to a PC. If not, it just means that they are destroyed files.
"All we have to decide is what to do, with the time that is given to us"

Achejay

I have 256MB of RAM.  My computer is less than 2 years old.  The games all seem to be PC-friendly.  Hmm.  Thanks anyway, Silver

Barbarian

You might consider installing the most recent drivers for your graphics card and/or as well as a recent version of DirectX.

And it's always wise to make a System Restore Checkpoint before installing any new software/drivers.
Conan: "To crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentation of the women!"
Mongol General: "That is good."

Blade of Rage: www.BladeOfRage.com

Edwin Xie

Do you even have a graphic card? Cause you need one for games. And uh, bah, whatever barbarian said.
Moving at superhigh speed getting to the planet called Earth. But it is boxed in white......thing.....

Achejay

Yes, I have a graphics card.  I have only had this problem with AGS games.  All others seem to be okay.  I will update the driver, though.

Scorpiorus