Author Topic: Winsetup in the editor  (Read 1092 times)

Snarky

  • Global Moderator
  • Global Moderator
  • Mittens Lord
  • Private Insultant
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2018, for his numerous additions to the AGS open source ecosystem including the new Awards Ceremony client and modules
    • Snarky worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Snarky worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Winsetup in the editor
« on: 03 Feb 2014, 14:20 »
I decided to start a new thread separately in order to avoid confusing the newbie.

Yes. But its not comfortable - build exe every time, when you want just a check. And its not comfortable run game like pixelquest at fullscreen.
You don't have to rebuild the exe every time to setup a graphics filter. Do that once, then use F5 (test game), and it will use same configuration.

My experience is that I have to do that again every time... I start up the editor, I think? The config settings don't seem to persist across sessions. Is that just on my system, or known behavior of AGS? And if so, would it be possible to change it? (Presumably it has to do with the AGS editor deleting the Compiled folder at the drop of a hat for no good reason I can see.)

Re: Winsetup in the editor
« Reply #1 on: 03 Feb 2014, 14:30 »
The whole thing about compilation/setup looks weird to me, I don't know why it does not allow to run setup for test build. I may guess that "Build EXE" was initially supposed to be run only for release version.

Radiant

  • Mittens Knight
  • AGS Baker
  • Return once more to the Two Kingdoms!
    • I can help with publishing
    • I can help with story design
    • Radiant worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Radiant worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: Winsetup in the editor
« Reply #2 on: 03 Feb 2014, 15:58 »
(Presumably it has to do with the AGS editor deleting the Compiled folder at the drop of a hat for no good reason I can see.)
That happens whenever you change a room, and was allegedly put in so that people wouldn't be confused by having a compiled version that didn't contain the changes. Frankly it surprises me that any game designer would be confused by that, though. Annoyingly, in windows/7 deleting an executable may take up to thirty seconds as it triggers various checks and safeguards within the system. So it would be nice if that could  be turned off, yes :)  Please consider that a feature request for 3.4, then.