AGS Traslation Utilitys

Started by JpGames, Wed 17/06/2015 23:03:12

Previous topic - Next topic

JpGames

Hi everyone;

Im just returning to this comunnity after many years of absence. Maybe, i still have the dream to make the "perfect" adventure game.
I just started offering my help to translate into spanish some games. Space Quest, decision of the elders, is the first one, and i found that it will be a huge task since the game have +3000 lines to tanslate. So, as a software developer, i decided to create a tool to make this work easier: AGSTU.

What the app will have? How it will work?

- Find empty characters function: which character is never used in the Default language? AGSTU will help you find this (usefull if the game use SCI fonts)
- Replace character function: If the game use SCI fonts, you will need edit the font to add special characters for different languages. AGSTU will change , for example, every "ñ" in the character number you choose. (done)
- Line by line editing: You can visualize just one line at the time, to avoid confussions and source file corruptions. (already done)
- Suggested translation: It will include a dictionary to auto-translate the line as a suggestion; if the translation is perfect, then the user just need one click to acept the sugested one. Also, the dictionary will be updated at runtime if the user wants. (to be implemented)
- Translations as separated projects: Every translation will be one different project in AGSTU. (to be implemented)
- Simultaneous multi language translations: You can translate the game to more than one language at the same time. (to be implemented if it is really useful)

Are there any other functionally someone believe need to be included?

Thanks for your time.

Monsieur OUXX