Editting a save file, or similar workarounds

Started by LPSP, Fri 14/08/2020 19:20:57

Previous topic - Next topic

LPSP

Hi, new user today, with a specific question to ask everyone. Hope you're all doing well. I'll get stuck in with the hows and whys of the question topic.

I've been replaying through Yahtzee Croshaw's old games lately out of a bit of nostalgia. Today is 7 Days a Skeptic, and I started playing about two hours ago. About one hour ago in between drinks breaks and such, I reached the part where (SPOILERS INCOMING)
Spoiler
the escape pod door opens to the vacuum and you have to very rapidly press a lever to shut it in time.
[close]

Now I remembered from my previous playthrough/s that this action occurs right after an extremely lengthy and unskippable cutscence, which was correct. So I had the bright idea of saving very quickly first when this event began so I won't have to sit through all that in the event of a retry.

So when the event started, I scrolled up to the top and hit save. When the mouse is hovered over the top bar in 7DaS, the action pauses, as is aptly demonstrated during other action sequences in the game. But it turns out, this is the one exception! So on finishing my save, I found that I have 0.5s to complete the challenge before getting a game over.

Try as much as I might, reloading and reloading again and again, I couldn't complete the challenge in this format. This was my only save file, and I had every reason to believe that this save sequence was fine given the prior standards established. A bit of a gip, you may say. Was I expected to simply sit through the massive horrible cutscene again and again? Was I not expected to work around this? It's a 15 year old AGS game so actually I don't really mind.