Doubts with pop-up menus [Solved]

Started by Zrezal, Thu 25/11/2021 20:09:17

Previous topic - Next topic

Zrezal

Good morning.
I am new with the program and I know very little about programming, but I would like to make a basic adventure game. I would like to program a simple adventure game like the one you can see in the video.

But I have a doubt: Can this kind of popup menus be done in the same way with AGS?
My intention is to develop a game like this, which I see would be more affordable for someone of my level.
Thanks.

arj0n

Such popups can easily be done in ags.

Zrezal

Thank you for your response.
How can they be done?

arj0n

In short:

You'll need to create GUIs.
A GUI can contain interactive elements like buttons or a listbox (like the 2 guis left on top in the video) and non-interactive element like a label (like the lower gui id the video).
When one GUI is shown and you click a button or a listbox item within that GUI, a second GUI can be shown (over the one that is already shown or instead of the one that is shown).
if you want to show one GUI over another, the Z-order of each GUI determines if a GUI is shown over another one or behind it.

For the animated heads you could use a GUI that contain 1 button.
Connect the button to a View (a View is a set of sprites).
Animate the button's View with a script command.

arj0n

But if the upper left popups only contain dialog options between characters (for coversations), you could simply go for using Dialogs instead of GUIs.

Zrezal

Thanks, arj0n.
It would be like in that game, I guess (because it is in Japanese and I don't understand what is written) that the main pop-up window would be the action verbs (look, take, use, etc) and the secondary window would point to the hot spots, characters or objects according to their corresponding use.