Trilby's Notes

Started by , Mon 26/06/2006 00:40:28

Previous topic - Next topic

m0ds

Yahtzee presents a brand new game - Trilby's Notes. He says;

"It's a direct sequel to 5 Days A Stranger set four years later, and telling the story of how Trilby re-acquired the idol of John DeFoe prior to launching it into space prior to 7 Days A Skeptic."

The game is parser driven so do expect to be typing quite a few commands!

"Don't hit me. I made it use a text parser for several reasons: (A) because the game is presented as Trilby's written account of the event, so typing commands feels like you're typing up the document or something, (B) as an homage to the AGI and SCI0 Sierra games of yesteryear, and (C) because I've never done a text parser game with AGS before. I had my testers try out the parser exhaustively so hopefully it's somewhat intuitive."

The game can be downloaded from his website, the games page is:
http://www.fullyramblomatic.com/notes/

Enjoy :)

T_ed89

I've only been playing it for a half an hour, but i'ts already very scary.
Nice graphics, good music and as always when Yahtzee makes a game, very exciting story.

I was thinking that the typing would be hard, especially for me who doesn't have english as my moderlanguage, but I must say that it works out fine.

skyfire2

I can't wait to try this thing out. I just hope the text parser is big enough.

Traveler

Good start (quite scary, as a matter of fact), but I found mutiple bugs with the game, hopefully there'll be an updated release.

1. The game seems to stuck after quitting. It happens almost every time I quit: notes.exe stays in the process list.

2. The parser is fairly weak: it doesn't recognize a lot of words for things right on the screen and in many cases words have suprising synonyms. "Search" seems to stand for "Open", etc. This is probably the only area that needs more work.