Anyone make text-driven games, or try to?

Started by Adventure Cow, Tue 24/11/2015 21:59:05

Previous topic - Next topic

Adventure Cow

I've been thinking a lot about text-based games and how to write them. (By text-based I mean games where the primary medium is text and not visuals - things like 80 Days, Sorcery, the Gamebook Adventures series, Choice of Games's games, Fallen London, etc.) Twine is a pretty popular tool in the indie scene, as well as things like Undum, Ren'py (text...ish), and ChoiceScript.

When I searched through the Unity forums, I found a couple of mentions of more sophisticated software that are typically used for non-text-based games, like articy:draft and ChatMapper as well.

Have any of you made, or tried to make games that are primarily text-based?
What tools did you use? How did it turn out?
Are there good tools to make this sort of game that are accessible to total beginners? If not, what do you think is missing?

Retro Wolf

Twine! I've made a couple with it, really easy! Not so much games but interactive stories.

Radiant

There's a pretty big Interactive Fiction community on the internet, check them out e.g. at this wiki.

Stupot

I've played around with Inform7 a fair bit and Twine a little. I quite like Inform but I think Twine can probably do all that a lot more flexibly and (a lot?) more easily for a beginner.

Azure

There's a whole community for Interactive Fiction that's very supportive. I worked on a game called Sun Dogs as a writer and that was all  Unity ( Nic the game's designer coded it all though). Inkle the guys who did 80 days have a nice tool called Inkle Writer which I like to play around with. Inform is the most powerful I think if you want to do a room/inventory based parser game, but I do prefer stuff like Twine and Inkle for ease of use. No one's really implemented variables in a way that's easy for me to use yet though it always requires some scripting which I am bad at.